Stem Cells Australia has a strong governance and organisational structure to provide oversight of strategic and scientific direction.
Stem Cells Australia was established in 2011 by The University of Melbourne, Monash University, the University of Queensland and the University of NSW,  the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute, the Victor Chang Research Institute and the Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health with Murdoch Childrens Research Institute joining in 2016. The University of Melbourne is the Administering Organisation for the initiative.

Governance Committee

Institutional oversight of the Stem Cells Australia initiative will be provided by the Governance Committee, composed of one nominee from each of the partners and chaired by Professor David de Kretser.

Prof David de
Kretser - Chair
Professor Mark
 - UoM
Professor Ross
 - Monash 
Ms Britt Granath

Professor Nick Di
Professor Alastair
 - UQ
Professor Julian
Clarke - WEHI 
Dr Henry de
 - Florey

Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee will provide strategic advice to the Program Leader on the research directions of initiative and independent evaluation on the research performance. Consisting of national and international experts in the field of stem cell science the Scientific Advisory Committee is chaired by Professor Patrick Tam, Children’s Medical Research Institute (Sydney), and includes Professors Christine Mummery, Leiden University Medical Centre (The Netherlands), Michael Rudnicki, Ottawa Hospital Research Institute (Canada), Malin Parmar, Lund University (Sweden), Susan Rosser, University of Edinburgh (UK), Jason Spence, University of Michigan (USA),and Peter Zandstra, Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research, University of Toronto (Canada).