Stem cell researchers amongst the winners at the 2012 Eureka Awards

29 August 2012
Doug Hilton winner of 2012 Eureka Prize for Mentoring Congratulations to Prof Doug Hilton Dr Marie-Liesse Asselin-Labat winners at the Australian Museum's 2012 Eureka Awards.

Professor Hilton has spent the past two decades mentoring young researchers, imbuing them with the excitement of discovery, and was last night awarded the University of Technology Sydney 2012 Eureka Prize for Outstanding Mentor of Young Researchers. Prof Hilton is the Director of the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research (WEHI), Head of the Department of Medical Biology at the University of Melbourne and leader of Stem Cells Australia's Haematopoiesis program.

Dr Marie-Liesse Asselin-Labat was named winner of the Macquarie University 2012 Eureka Prize for Outstanding Young Researcher for her work in understanding the role of breast stem cells in cancer.

Great day for WEHI and Australian stem cell science.

Hear interviews with Doug and Marie-Liesse on ABC Radio National Life Matters.