David De Kretser elected to Australian Academy of Science Council

15 November 2013
David De Kretser joins Council of the Australian Academy of Science SCA congratulates the Chair of our Governance Committee, Professor David De Kretser, on his election to the Council of the Australian Academy of Science.  The Council represents the leadership of the Academy, and David's appointment is a testimony to his standing in the Australian scientific community.

This week the Australian Academy of Science announced the election of four outstanding senior scientists to the Academy’s Council.

Professor Pauline Ladiges, an eminent botanist from the University of Melbourne, will assume the role of Secretary of Education and Outreach.

Professor Cheryl Praeger, an internationally feted mathematician from the University of Western Australia, will be the Academy’s new Foreign Secretary.

Molecular plant physiologist Professor Susanne von Caemmerer from the Australian National University, and Professor David de Kretser, reproductive biologist and former Governor of Victoria, from Monash University, will both take on roles as Councillors.

Along with incoming President, Professor Andrew Holmes, the new Councillors will take on their roles at the closure of the Australian Academy of Science Annual General Meeting in May 2014. 

For more information visit the Australian Academy of Science.