Melissa Little and David Gardner elected as Fellows of Australian Academy of Science

22 May 2017
Some of the 21 new Fellows

Twenty-one of Australia’s best scientists have been elected to the Australian Academy of Science, a rare and esteemed honour, for their outstanding contributions to science. Amongst the 2017 Fellows are Professor Melissa Little, Stem Cells Australia’s Program Leader and Theme Director of Cell Biology at the Murdoch Childrens Research Institute, and Professor David Gardner, reproductive biologist at the University of Melbourne and a Chief Investigator in our consortium.

Describing her election to the Academy as an enormous honour, Professor Melissa Little says, “It is personally humbling and rewarding to see your passion for science acknowledged, however my success reflects the contributions of my entire team across many years.”

Professor Little is admired internationally for her research on kidney development and her pioneering studies into renal regeneration. She has spent more than 20 years researching the molecular basis of kidney development, renal disease and repair.

Professor Little is based in Melbourne, where she heads the Kidney Research Laboratory at the Murdoch Childrens Research Institute. She is a Professor in the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences, University of Melbourne, the President of the Australian Society of Stem Cell Research and Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences.

Professor David Gardner is a world-leading embryologist. His basic animal research laid the foundation for major clinical advances in human IVF. His research has not only significantly improved animal assisted reproduction and breeding programs, but has transformed how human in vitro fertilisation is performed, resulting in significant increases in human pregnancy rates and the birth of millions of children worldwide.

David's specialised and improved culture media made it possible to isolate human embryonic stem cells.

The Australian Academy of Science was founded in 1954. It is a not-for-profit organisation of individuals elected for their outstanding contributions to science and research, and a natinal body that supports and promotes science through a range of programs and activities.

The new Fellows will be formally inducted into the Academy at the Shine Dome in Canberra on Monday 22 May.

The Academy’s Fellowship now includes 524 esteemed scientists.

For more information:

21 of Australia's best scientists join academy

Professor Melissa Little receives science academy's highest honour